Giving Thanks – homeschool style

We’ve survived to Thanksgiving break! We have made it through 17 out of the 36 weeks for the grade.  I think this break will be a wonderful cure for the slight burnout we’ve all been feeling.

In the spirit of the season, I thought I’d reflect a little on what I’m thankful for, home school style.  After some thinking, it turns out I have a lot to be thankful for.  Here’s my (by no means complete) list for this year.

I’m grateful for the wonderful resources out there.  There is no way I could do as well as I do without some of the amazing books, websites, programs, and ‘stuff’ out there.  I know that home school materials used to be a lot fewer and further between, so I feel grateful to be teaching now.  I want, more than anything, to give my children the best education I can, and these resources really help me step up my game.

I’m grateful for the public library.  Nothing sparks interest like seeing a fully illustrated story book about a topic.  Or, even better still, a video on the subject.  I go online, tell the library what I want.  They fetch it for me, I swing by and pick it up.  My children have access to so many books, and I don’t pay a dime.  Magic.  Thank you library, for making Louis Pasteur fascinating.

More than anything, though, I’m indescribably grateful to be a part of my children’s education.  There is nothing more magical than teaching a child to read.  Seeing the journey from letter sounds, to simple words, to simple sentences and paragraphs, to honest-to-god reading, is truly life-changingly powerful.  I get to be there everyday as they learns math concepts, discovers the workings of the natural word, travels through history, learns to express himself in art, and builds critical and powerful communication skills.  No mater how involved in a public-school education I was, I would never experience even half of this.

Sometimes home school is damn hard.  I hit walls, the kids hit walls, I want to throw tantrums, and I just don’t want to get out of bed for the day.  Even with that, the first time you look at the magical creature sitting next to you, turning weird shapes into comprehensible language, it’s all totally worth it.  I am so unspeakably grateful for every discovery, every eureka moment, and every proud smile gained from a new accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

