When the rug is pulled…

Homeschooling was going swimmingly.  I started the 2015 – 2016 school year with a kindergartner and a 2nd grader.  We brought my youngest in to the fold fairly well, and he took to homeschool with ease.  Both boys were learning well, I was on top of my game.  I was even remembering to fill out my library logs!  I never fill out my library logs.

Then, disaster struck.  Well, relative disaster struck.  I fell ill.  Not a cold, or a flu, but mysteriously ill.  I, who had never had anything worse than a mild flu in my life, fell ill.  I was in the hospital, in and out of doctor’s offices, and left trying to cope with this weird illness.  School was suddenly an impossible feat.  Happily, my husband was able to take a leave, and we conquered school together.  I was able to run a few classes from the couch or bed.  The schedule got real ugly for a while.  My perfectly measured, pre-paced schedule was in shambles, but we limped along.

We focused on the essentials for a while.  I learned to manage my symptoms and felt a bit stronger.  Things slowly started to come back… well, mostly.  I’m still not back to where I was.  Honestly, it might take a very long time to get back, if I ever do.  So I’m learning to adapt.  I’ve had to learn to put aside my rampant control freak tenancies.  I’ve learned to prioritize.  I’ve also learned what it’s like to be on the outside of the homeschooling routine, as my husband had been.  Man, it’s weird out there.  For all the challenges, I think it’s been a good learning experience for me.

Life will happen, usually when you least want it to.  Homeschool will have speed bumps.  This has been by far the largest so far.  The conversation about sending the boys to public school did come up, but I had the support I needed to keep going.  I am so grateful that I had the help I needed.  Even if I can’t meet my every goal, homeschool will be that much sweeter for me now.

 

Leave a Reply

