All About Graduation

We’ve made it!  After four years of hard work, my oldest son has finished the All About Reading program from All About Learning.  I’m so proud of him and how far he’s come.  He’s distraught now that it’s over – he loved All About Reading.  He looked forward to the stories, the fun games, and didn’t even seem to mind the sheets full of reading drills.

My son was so disappointed to learn that there wasn’t a level five.  The only substitute I can offer him now are great books.  Not a bad substitute, but he’s still not totally sold on this reading for fun idea.  We’ll work on that.

It’s been an wonderful journey with him.  Starting out with letter sounds four years ago, and now ending with big, grown-up words that he tackles (mostly) flawlessly has been so rewarding to be a part of.  Maybe I’m being overly sentimental, but seeing him learn to read was like watching him discover a whole new universe.

I really don’t think there is a more important skill that can be taught to children in the entire course of their education.  Mathematics comes in second, but let’s face it, being able to read can literally teach you anything else.  And I got the honor of being there for every moment of it with my son.

So now we tackle the world of novels, poetry, non-fiction, plays, myths, short stories, and anything else we can get our hands on.  My son is a fantastic reader and he is ready!

In honor of his achievement, I have updated my review of All About Reading.  Give it a read if you’re interested in the program.

Leave a Reply

