2017 – 2018 2nd Grade Curriculum

We are gearing up for the 2017 – 2018 school year.  Our short summer break is almost over, and we are just about ready to start 2nd grade for my youngest.  This year, we are using the following curricula:

Math – Math U See Gamma
Reading – All About Reading 3/4
Composition – Student Writing Intensive A
Grammar – Fix-it Grammar 1
Vocabulary – Home-made program
Literature – Core Knowledge grade 2
Spelling – All About Spelling 2
Handwriting – Handwriting Without Tears grade 2
Science – Core Knowledge grade 2
History – Core Knowledge grade 2
Geography – Home-made program
Computer – Home-made program
Art – Core Knowledge grade 2
Music – Core Knowledge grade 2
P.E. – Home-made program
Typing – Keyboarding Without Tears 2

This year is filled with awesome stuff!  We get to raise butterflies to learn about life cycles, build a model of the Parthenon, read Charlotte’s Web, learn about how computers work, start cursive, and so much more!  I am really looking forward to this year.  We have some new programs to try, but I have high hopes that they’ll be a good fit for our family.

To see what we’re doing for fourth grade this year, click here.

2 thoughts on “2017 – 2018 2nd Grade Curriculum

  1. Gina

    I found your blog while searching for a review of Vocabulit and Wordly Wise. I was reading this post and clicked on the link for Core Knowledge. Wow! What an incredible resource! Even though I had made my choices for this year I think I may have to change my plans. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

