Math U See – Early Review

Last school year, we hit a big wall with our math program, and had to switch things around in the middle of the school year.  Consequently, I do not feel we’ve used enough of the program yet to give a definitive review, but I can give you my first impressions on the program.  This post will be my short review on the program.  For the full story (so far), see my full review.

When we first started, my first impression of Math U See was that it was too light.  One lesson (not even a long one) follows a few days of worksheets.   So far, this hasn’t been the problem I thought it would be.  The worksheets offer ample practice, and focusing on a specific skill helps hone the concept being taught.  With each lesson building off the last, students get plenty of review as well.

No worries about forgetting material not used in the current level.  Small review sections are available on some of the optional worksheets, and many of the problems manage to work old and new skills together.

A feature of Math U See that I really like is the focused level system.  Instead of teaching a little of this, and a little of that at an arbitrary grade level, Math U See focuses on a particular set of related concepts, quite like high level math programs.  Using this approach in elementary math is pretty rare, and I have to say, I like it.  Instead of teaching small bits, shifting focus, coming back and learning a bit more, then adding skills to concepts taught last year, Math U See puts them all in sequence.

This focused approached has been very helpful for my oldest, who has ADHD.  Not bouncing from topic to topic has really helped keep him on track.  The shorter lessons have also been very helpful.

When starting the program, the cost of everything including the manipulatives can be a little much, but the price really is in line with similar programs, and with multiple students and/or used curriculum, it becomes a better deal.

So far, I’m finding very little to dislike.  I’ll have to wait to see how effective it really is, but early results look promising.

Leave a Reply

